solizoo.blogg.se

Underground railroad story slavery
Underground railroad story slavery






underground railroad story slavery
  1. Underground railroad story slavery driver#
  2. Underground railroad story slavery full#

Great-great-great-great-great granddaughter of Nathaniel Collins To each his own, if that's your opinion that you want to fly a Confederate flag and I want to fly one that says Black Lives Matters then by all means if you don't bother mine, I'm not gonna bother yours.” I don't think I let it bother me as much as if they were burning a cross in their yard. So I think that's, that's the culture of it to me. How's that your history? Like you're not down South.

underground railroad story slavery

You know, you could brainwash somebody and tell them well, this is how things are and Blacks are inferior and that is your history: the Confederate flag. A lot of people are here and have been here, and when I see the Confederate flags on cars or in town they might not be educated. The norm is not to move away, go to college and then move back. I wish that there was still a 100-year-old aunt that could tell me … I would just sit at her feet and listen to stories. I wish I knew more, and knew detail after detail after detail.

underground railroad story slavery

Underground railroad story slavery full#

We need to find a way where we both can exercise our rights and walk away unbloodied.”Įxpand the full transcript of Amber Dudley's audio Does it mean that I should be chastised? No. But does that mean that that person should be chastised? No. The right of me to not participate in something because of my religious beliefs may have to take precedence over the rights of someone else to live a different lifestyle than what I do. Sometimes some of our rights in this nation are going to clash. Slavery has a history that goes back to nearly the beginning of time. People have been dying for this cause of equality since slavery was outlawed. I have physical roots.Īnd if we look back through history, and we actually dig all the history up, we see that the struggle has always been going on. I have roots there other than spiritual roots. Then growing up in that church, knowing that my ancestors were founding members of that congregation, knowing that some of the logs that still hold it together came from property that one of my great-grandfathers lived on, and seeing the work that my father did around the church to help maintain it.

underground railroad story slavery

The following is a recording from the descendant of a freedom seeker and/or abolitionist who made the journey through, or assisted folks along, the Underground Railroad, from slavery to liberation in Ripley, Ohio.Įxpand the full transcript of James Settles' audio James, the great grandson of Joseph Settles, served as pastor for 24 years until his retirement in September 2020. Joseph helped build Ripley’s Beebe Chapel Christian Methodist Episcopal Church. He spent much of the rest of his life helping others like him make their way north. Joseph returned to Kentucky four days later to help eight other people from his enslaver’s farm across the river. Once the family settled in Ripley, Joseph made arrangements with other conductors to take in his friends. Joseph fled across the Ohio River in 1863 with his wife, brother-in-law and infant daughter. As a driver, he made contacts who helped him arrange his escape to freedom.

Underground railroad story slavery driver#

Joseph Settles was an enslaved person living in Mays Lick, Kentucky, in the 1860s, working as a carriage driver for his enslaver, a circuit court judge.








Underground railroad story slavery